+65 6336 2328

Current Committee

Management Committee



Dr. Oskar SIGL

Dr. Sigl graduated as Diploma Engineer (MSc) 1985 from Technical University of Graz (Austria), in Civil Engineering specializing in geotechnics and soil mechanics. In 1991, after working for five years as Teaching Assistant at the Institute for Geomechanics and Tunnelling, he achieved with distinction the PhD in mining engineering at the Mining University of Leoben (Austria). Dr. Sigl was involved in the design of major underground structures in a great number of projects, and more than 30 years of experience, these projects cover a large variety such as subways, railways, roads, power transmission cables, sewerage mains, underground storage schemes and caverns.

Vice President:

Mr. GAN Cheng Chian

Gan Cheng Chian – 32 years of civil engineering experience. Currently working for Bekaert Singapore as Technical Manager, Underground Solutions. 23 years working for Bekaert – involved in many prestigious underground and construction projects around Asia. Between 1999 to present, involved in no less than 20 projects featuring fibre reinforced sprayed concrete tunnel linings. Between 2005 to present, involved in no less than 17 projects featuring fibre reinforced concrete precast segmental and cast concrete tunnel linings. A member of the working group drafting the Singapore Standard on Design of Fibre Concrete Structures since Jan 2019. In Mar 2019, appointed as the Domain Expert for Sprayed Concrete and in Jan 2020, appointed as Domain Expert for Fibre Reinforced Concrete under iNPQS (Intelligent National Productivity and Quality Specification Singapore). ICAgile Certified Professional in Agile Team Facilitation, Agile Project and Delivery Management and Agile Coaching. ICDL Certified Professional in Digital Marketing. Since Feb 2021, Scrum Alliance Certified ScrumMaster® (CSM®).

Hon. Secretary:

Prof. WU Wei

Dr Wu Wei is an Assistant Professor from School of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore. He received his PhD degree in rock mechanics from Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Lausanne (EPFL), Switzerland. Prior to joining NTU, he worked as a Postdoctoral Scholar at Stanford University, USA.

Dr Wu’s research interests lie in rock mechanics and rock engineering, with emphasis on rock dynamics, fault mechanics, reservoir geomechanics and underground space development. He has co-authored more than 80 publications in journals and conferences and awarded over 10 research grants from China, Switzerland and Singapore. Dr Wu has been a member of SRMEG since 2007 and served as the Honorary Secretary from 2017 to 2021. Now he is the Chair of the Local Organising Committee of the 13th Asian Regional Conference of the International Association for Engineering Geology and the Environment (IAEG) to be held in November 2021 in Singapore.


Hon. Treasurer:

Mr. ONG Perng Fey

Mr Ong Perng Fey is the Director of Monolithic Pte Ltd. He obtained his BEng Mining from Camborne School of Mines and his MSc in Construction Law & Dispute Resolution from National University of Singapore and King's College (London).

He worked in the construction industry for 22 years in various capacities - Geological Engineer, Project Manager, Blasting Consultant. He is currently involved in SFRC works in the LTA, PUB projects and did project management of rock wall stabilisation works; engaged as a Blasting Specialist by T.Y. Lin International Pte Ltd for a JTC infrastructure project.

He was a past ordinary committee member, Hon. Treasurer and Hon. Secretary for the society before.



Dr. AN Xinmei

Dr. An Xinmei is a Deputy Project Manager in Land Transport Authority, Singapore and a certified PMP for project management. 

Dr An has over 17 years of research and practical experiences in rock engineering and underground space development including NTU-DSTA joint UTRE programme on the development of underground space for civilian and military uses, Thomson East Coast Line, and Jurong Region Line. 

Her areas of interests include: underground space development, deep excavation, tunnelling. She has published over 50 papers in relevant fields. 

Dr An was a volunteer secretary when SRMEG was first established in 2006. She also organized site visits of rock blasting and rectangular TBM in LTA-TEL for a few SRMEG members in 2016 and 2018. 



Dr. SUN Jianping

Dr Sun Jianping is technical cum design manager from China Communications Construction Company Limited (Singapore Branch) and part-time lecturer in Nanyang Technological University. He is also a Singapore Registered Professional Engineer.

He has over 12 years of experience in rock engineering, project management and deep excavation ERSS design for Jurong Rock Cavern Project, Underground Water Reservoir, Thomson East Coast Line and Changi Airport T5 Project, etc. 

His major areas of interest are deep excavation, ground improvement, deep foundations, instrumentation and monitoring, slope stability, rock cavern excavation and rock grouting.



Er. TEO Tiong Yong

Er. Teo Tiong Yong is currently the Chief Operating Officer for Chip Eng Seng Construction Pte Ltd.

He was involved in the design, construction and management of underground development projects in Singapore for more than 20 years including the Underground Ammunition Facility, Deep Tunnel Sewerage System Contract T05 and Jurong Rock Caverns (JRC).

He is a registered Professional Engineer (Singapore).

Dr. U Kar Winn

Dr. U Kar Winn, a sessional lecturer from University of Newcastle Singapore, is currently lecturing Geotechnical Engineering modules in Bachelor of Civil Engineering Programme jointly conducted by BCAA-UONS.  

He is also working as a freelance consultants in geotechnical and engineering geology fields.

He is an elected President of Myanmar Geologists Society Singapore. He is a professional Geologist of American Institution of Professional Geologists, Chartered Geologist of Geological Society of London and European Geologist of the Federation of Geologists, Belgium. He is an associate editor of The Professional Geologist Magazine of AIPG and technical reviewer of JAES and GEGE Journals. 




Dr. ZHOU Yingxin

Dr. Zhou Yingxin is a Fellow of the Academy of Engineering Singapore, Fellow of the International Society for Rock Mechanics and Engineering, member of the editorial board for the International Journal on Tunnelling & Underground Space Technology. He is Board member and Director (Asia) of the Associated research Centers for the Urban Underground Space, and a member of the Advisory Board of the ITA Committee on Underground Space. 

His main area of expertise is rock engineering and underground space technology.